Monday, October 19, 2009

Deering Series by Latta Griswold

The Deering Series is a set of five books that relate the adventures of boys/young men at prep school and college. The stories are well illustrated with numerous glossy pictures and were published by Macmillan. It was one of only three pre-1930 series listed in Mattson. The books of this series are very hard to find in dust jacket.

Latta Griswold (1876-1931) authored the series. Griswold attended the Princeton Theological Institute and graduated from the General Theological Seminary in New York in 1905. He was a rector at the Trinity Episcopal Church in Lenox, Massachusetts at the time of his death. In 1926 he founded the Lenox School.

The Deering Series
1.Deering of Deal 1912
2. Deering at Princeton 1913
3. The Winds of Deal 1914
4. Deal Woods 1915
5. The Tides of Deal 1922


  1. Interesting. I'm not familiar with this series. I'll have to put it on my list of series to check out.

  2. This is a tough series to find-especially in jacket. Cary