Sunday, September 13, 2009

The Jack Series by Robert Grant

Above is the first edition-1888 Jordan Marsh

The Jack Series is a two book series that includes the Peter to Parley title Jack Hall which was discussed on August 7, 2009. I thought I would complete the series today.

The second book is Jack in the Bush. It was also written by Robert Grant. This book was copyrighted and published for the first time in 1888. As you can see, the cover shows a vignette of "Bush Jack" catching the fish that none of us ever have.
Jack in the Bush was illustrated by F.G. Attwood. This book has illustrations by F.T. Merrill as well as William Kurtz. The adventures take place in Canada as Jack fights bears, fish other native islands. A nice contrast to the first book of school stories.

Both books were reprinted a number of times by Charles Scribner's between the 1890 and the 1920's.

Below is an ad from Life magazine in 1888.

Robert Grant (1852-1940) was a Boston judge born and bred to the upper class.
Beside his two book juvenile series, his literary output a handful of other "adult" books including "The Little Tin God on Wheels" and "The Confessions of a Frivolous Girl". His articles in Scribner's Magazine regarding what income was necessary for a man of refined tastes did not put him in a very favorable light. His autobiography, Four Score: An Autobiography was published in 1934 by Houghton, Miflin Company.

Here is the title page and
frontispiece for the first edition of Jack in the Bush.

Below is the 1893 Charles Scribner's
Sons edition.

No comments:

Post a Comment