Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Wonder of War Series by Francis Rolt-Wheeler

Francis Rolt-Wheeler has been discussed before. He wrote three series that were published by Lothrop, Lee and Shepard. Here is the Wonder of War Series. This four book series was first published between 1917 and 1919 and reprinted for a number of years thereafter.

The books were illustrated with numerous photographs. These well made books were typical of the better bound series books done by this publishing house. Each book in this series described a different aspect of the "Great War"-World War I.

They are not too common but with a decent effort all four can be found in dust jackets. I would rate their scarcity at about the same level as the earlier U.S. Service Series by Rolt-Wheeler. They are not as rare as the Museum Series books that he penned.

The books:
1. The Wonder of War in the Air 1917
2. The Wonder of War on Land 1918
3. The Wonder of War at Sea 1919
4. The Wonder of War in the Holy Land 1919


  1. Another series I'm not familiar with. I do have a few volumes of Rolt-Wheeler's U.S. Service series (sans dustjackets). Well, at least I got the correct war.

  2. That was a pretty tough one Beverly.

  3. very good site. Francis Rolt-Wheeler is a genius. I look for a copy of Rolt-wheeler publishing in french on mysticism or esoterism. If you can find them, thanks to transmit copies: TITLES

    -The twenty two keys of protection
    -Philosophie et initiation
    -la mystique pratique
    -la cosmologie occulte
    -l'ésotérisme des nombres

    if you find or you have them, thanks of sending in copies on this mail :

  4. look for books in :